Browse Items (28 total)

  • Collection: The History of Penrose Library

Dalia Corkrum

Corkrum.jpg
Dalia Corkrum is the current Director Penrose Library. She began in that position in 2005.

Up-to-the-Times

Up-to-the-Times.pdf
The Whitman College and Northwest Archives have a trove of primary source documents, including manuscripts, letters and diaries documenting the Whitmans and other early missionaries in the region. The collection also has many publications and…

Babel

Babel from the Nuremberg Chronicle.jpg
A page from the Nuremburg Chronicle depicting the tower of Babel.

Nuremburg Chronicle

Chronicle.jpg
Penrose Library also has a number of rare books, including this copy the title-less work usually known in English as the Nuremburg Chroncile, but also called the Liber Chronicarum. Published in 1493, the Chronicle is an incunable, or a book…

Penrose Library bookstacks

HPIM0097.jpg
In addition electronic resources - nearly 200 databases and 40,000 unique journal titles - Penrose Library has a 500,000 print volumes.

Stuart Room

StuartRoom.jpg
The Stuart Room, which houses the furniture and artifacts from the Elbridge H. And Evelyn Clark Stuart Napoleon Collection, was added when the Stuart Wing was constructed. Shown here is the desk used by Napoleon’s surgeon on the island of St.…

Allen Reading Room

AllenRoom.jpg
The Allen Reading Room, named in recognition of a gift from the Paul G. Allen Charitable Foundation, is a strictly-enforced quiet study area in the library. It was built as part of the library remodeling in 2000, which moved the main entrance towards…

Reynolds Hall

Reynolds_Hall__Whitman_College.jpg
Located in the approximate location of Olin Hall, Reynolds housed the library collections from 1934 until the construction of Penrose Memorial Library in 1957.

College Hall

College_Hall.jpg
College Hall was the main campus building in the early years of the college, and included a library room, which housed the collections until the Memorial Building was erected in 1899.

Memorial Building

Memorial_Building.jpg
The stately Memorial Hall housed the library from 1900-1934.
Output Formats

atom, dcmes-xml, json, omeka-json, omeka-xml, rss2